PDA

View Full Version : MITB Ladder Match, Jeff Hardy Doesn't Work, More Notes

Black Widow
03-09-2008, 09:08 PM
- There is a new article online by the Oshkosh Northwestern about last night's WWE SmackDown/ECW live event in the city. Article Below.

Fans flock to see WWE at Kolf

By Doug Zellmer
of The Northwestern

Chicago resident James Cobb didn't let the cold and a three-hour drive deter him from making a road trip to Oshkosh Saturday night.

Cobb and his daughter, Christine, 12, braved 18 degree weather to wait in line outside of Kolf Sports Center on the campus of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh before the doors opened to see some of their favorite World Wrestling Entertainment wrestlers, who performed in a 7:30 p.m. card.

The event featured some of the top professional wrestlers in the country, including Batista, Rey Mysterio and Oshkosh native Dylan Postl, a 4-foot-4 inch dynamo and rising WWE star known as 'Hornswoggle.'

"Definitely, I'm a pro wrestling diehard," James Cobb said. "We'll be in Green Bay Sunday for the WWE and in Milwaukee Monday at the Bradley Center for Monday Night Raw."

There was a bonus for Cobb and his daughter. Cobb said they got an autograph from WWE superstar Batista, who was outside of Kolf about 90 minutes before the show began.

Some fans came to see 'Hornswoggle.' The WWE storyline is that 'Hornswoggle' is injured, but he was at Kolf for the wrestling card.

"I like Hornswoggle," Christine Cobb said. "He's funny and he wins against the big guys."

Oshkosh resident Tyler Robinson said he went to school with Postl and wanted to see him perform in the WWE at Kolf. Robinson said he's glad 'Hornswoggle' has made it to big time wrestling.

"I've seen him on TV," Robinson said. "I try to watch it as much as I can."

Omro resident Chris Baxter also waited in line to see 'Hornswoggle' and other WWE wrestlers. Baxter said he wants to be a professional wrestler and that Postl got him involved in training for the profession.